Our Blog

Paul Mitchell Students Make the Grade in 2017 Beacon Competition

The Professional Beauty Association (PBA) announced the winners of its renowned Beacon program for 2017, with more than one-third (34 winners and 80 Honorable Mentions) coming from Paul Mitchell Schools.

Designed to encourage and inspire beauty industry students to effectively prepare for successful careers, Beacon consists of two elements—a competition open to all qualifying students and a live educational event in Las Vegas for top-scoring entrants—giving Beacon students the tools and confidence they need to jump-start their careers. More than 1,000 students submitted résumés, letters of recommendation, portfolio images, and professional marketing pieces to a panel of industry judges, including salon and spa owners, manufacturers, and distributors. Ultimately, 300 students were selected for their creativity and professionalism.

Representing the nation’s most promising cosmetology students, the 100 Beacon winners and 200 honorable mentions now have the opportunity to attend PBA Beauty Week, in Las Vegas, July 8–10, 2017. PBA Beauty Week is North America's largest, most inclusive beauty event, where Beacon students attend specialized classes with the most influential speakers in the industry, experience the hottest beauty industry events, and have the opportunity to meet and exchange ideas with top executives, platform artists, salon owners, and the nation’s top students. Former speakers include Tabatha Coffey, Vivienne Mackinder, Winn Claybaugh, and more.

“The annual Beacon event makes me truly proud to be part of the beauty industry,” says Paul Mitchell Schools Dean and Cofounder Winn Claybaugh, “because Beacon is a career-changing, life-changing event for future professionals all over the country. If the future of our industry relied solely on me, we'd all be in trouble! The industry’s future absolutely relies on the next generation of beauty professionals, and the more we do to invest in them, the better off we all are.”


Paul Mitchell Schools’ 2017 Beacon Honorees


Paul Mitchell The School Huntsville
Honorable Mention: Abbi Layman


Paul Mitchell The School Phoenix
Winner: Hayley Moll


Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa
Winners: Natasha Abdullatif, Prudence Etter, Necolia Simmons
Honorable Mention: Wendy de la Rosa, Ricardo Moya

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay
Winner: Briana Brewer

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego
Winners: Angelica Ordaz Navarra, Jessica Ribera
Honorable Mention: Stephanie Defreest, Daryana Mikhniuk

Paul Mitchell The School San Jose
Winner: Stanley Klein
Honorable Mention: Jamie Lee Powers

Paul Mitchell The School Sherman Oaks
Honorable Mention: Cyrus Miller

Paul Mitchell The School Temecula
Winners: Jules McCormack, Jessica Mendenhall, Theresa Romero
Honorable Mention: Kassandra Harms, Christa Marnne, Katlin Monahan, Ashley Prosper, Crystal Strother

San Francisco Institute of Esthetics and Cosmetology
Winners: Kathryn Huth


Paul Mitchell The School Colorado Springs
Winner: Crystal Hunter

Paul Mitchell The School Denver
Winner: Ashley Schnitker


Paul Mitchell The School Jacksonville
Honorable Mention: Skyla Ellis, Laura Schulhauser

Paul Mitchell The School Orlando
Honorable Mention: Jakob Dazey, Monteria Johnson, Amelya Viera 

Paul Mitchell The School Tampa
Winners: Shena Sharise Richardson 


Paul Mitchell The School Atlanta
Winner: Yolanda Wills
Honorable Mention: Stephanie Miller

Paul Mitchell The School Esani
Winner: Julieta del Toro
Honorable Mention: Heather Bulla, Christie Hutchinson 


Paul Mitchell The School Honolulu
Winners: Michlenn Bocoboc, April Ramangkoun
Honorable Mention: Francesca Gregg


Paul Mitchell The School Boise
Honorable Mention: Brittni Burlando, Shudel Lukonde

Paul Mitchell The School Nampa
Winner: Michalia Zink

Paul Mitchell The School Rexburg
Honorable Mention: Lydia Bond 


Paul Mitchell The School Bradley
Honorable Mention: Bridget Damper

Paul Mitchell The School Chicago
Winner: Laine Jackson
Honorable Mention: Taylor Alejandro, Lindsey Mudge 

Paul Mitchell The School Lombard
Honorable Mention: Jalyn Fowler


Paul Mitchell The School Overland Park
Honorable Mention: Cynetta Mitchell


Paul Mitchell The School Louisville
Honorable Mention: Brooke Spurgeon


The Temple, A Paul Mitchell Partner School
Winners: Larissa Brooks, Anita Koontz
Honorable Mention: Nichole Adams, Ashley LeBlank, Dannee Sichert 


Paul Mitchell The School Escanaba
Honorable Mention: Alissa Avian-Tappy

Paul Mitchell The School Great Lakes
Winner: Tiffany LaCroix 

Paul Mitchell The School Michigan
Winners: Lakiesha Cooper, Erin Puffpaff
Honorable Mention: Melissa Hixon, Laura Husseini, Amanda Knight, Sierra Wingerter, Crystal Zysek


Paul Mitchell The School St. Louis
Honorable Mention: Brittany Brown, Madison Chapman, Tracy Nguyen, Geovantie Slaughter 


Paul Mitchell The School Lincoln
Winner: Amanda Gubbels


Parisian Beauty Academy, A Paul Mitchell Partner School
Winners: Theresa Haljean, Maryrose Vega
Honorable Mention: Brittany Davoren, Stephanie Lopez, Victoria Sostre, Natallia Stelmakh, Aliza Weiss


Paul Mitchell The School Schenectady
Honorable Mention: Amanda Van Hoesen 


Paul Mitchell The School Charlotte
Honorable Mention: Courtnie Moroughan


Paul Mitchell The School Cincinnati
Honorable Mention: Chloe Mills 

Paul Mitchell The School Columbus
Honorable Mention: Kelby Fitch, Allyson Ford, Jenna Hykes, Daniel Peglar 

The Ohio Academy (Twinsburg), A Paul Mitchell Partner School
Winner: Kimberly Mayo
Honorable Mention: Skylar Cumberlander, Marissa Digirolamo, Shannon Howie 


Imagine Oklahoma, A Paul Mitchell Partner School
Honorable Mention: Aracely Ontiveros


Paul Mitchell The School Rhode Island
Honorable Mention: Melissa Caprio, Bianca Dobson, Kalyn Pusczynski


Paul Mitchell The School Columbia

Honorable Mention: Katie Rowe


Paul Mitchell The School Murfreesboro
Honorable Mention: Juan Azucena, Hailey Tanner, Miranda Wiuff


Paul Mitchell The School Austin
Winners: Katie Hooper
Honorable Mention: Jordan Graham, Mina Hickman, Shelby Sells 

Paul Mitchell The School Houston
Honorable Mention: Freddericka Neal


Paul Mitchell The School Logan
Winners: Anna Graetz, Madison Rich 

Paul Mitchell The School Ogden
Honorable Mention: Shelby Ewart, Myranda Giordano, Kacey Holmstead 

Paul Mitchell The School Provo
Winner: Taylor Trageser
Honorable Mention: Courtnee Herbert, Tiana Loveless 

Paul Mitchell The School Salt Lake City
Honorable Mention: Cady Clark, Kameo Gregersen, Angie Gutierrez 


Paul Mitchell The School Spokane
Honorable Mention: Candace Ginn


Paul Mitchell The School Milwaukee
Winner: Alysha Pomeroy


Related Links

PBA / Beacon: https://probeauty.org/beacon

2017 Beacon Winners (full list): https://probeauty.org/docs/competitions/Beacon17_WinnersHM_web.pdf


Written By: Gail Fink, Paul Mitchell Schools

Find a School
Request Information
Chat not enabled for this page.
Please select a form preset.

Request Information

Preferred Method of Contact

Request A Tour

Interested in touring our campus? Please complete the form below.

Find a School


More Information